Culture de la Gastronomie

Une île Renommée pour sa gastronomie

vj-share-icon

Malgré sa petite superficie, Jersey déborde de saveurs. Imaginez-vous faire vos courses directement à la ferme! Que ce soit pour préparer un pique-nique jersiais ou pour goûter aux produits de notre terroir, ne manquez pas ces expériences gustatives à découvrir tout autour de l’île. Prenez le temps d’explorer les saveurs authentiques de Jersey.

Compass icon
Sud

Balade dans le centre de St Helier

Découvrez le cœur animé de Jersey grâce à notre guide gastronomique du sud de l’île.

  • Ici, le homard est toujours local

    Ici, le homard est toujours local

  • Les fruits de mer ont meilleur goût au bord de l’eau

    Les fruits de mer ont meilleur goût au bord de l’eau

  • Préparez un pique-nique parfait

    Préparez un pique-nique parfait

  • Des Jersey tout juste Royals récoltées

    Des Jersey tout juste Royals récoltées

La Fresh Fish Company, St Helier

La Fresh Fish Company est située au centre du port de pêche industriel sur le quai de Victoria Pier, port de St Helier. Offrez-vous un délicieux sandwich au crabe ou une pince de homard à déguster avec vue sur la mer, ou sélectionnez le meilleur poisson pour votre barbecue sur la plage en fin de journée. Vous trouverez également d’impressionnantes araignées de mer durant les mois estivaux. Vous pouvez agrémenter le tout d’herbes aromatiques et de laitues venant directement de fermes locales, et de ‘Jersey Sea Salt’, sel de mer naturel récolté sur l’île. Des saveurs 100% Jersey.  

Halles du Central Market et de Beresford, St Helier

Les Central et Beresford Markets font intégralement partie du patrimoine de Jersey et ses habitants en sont très fiers. Ces halles ont ouvert leurs portes il y a plus de 200 ans, elles sont animées, pleines de couleurs et d’odeurs appétissantes. On y trouve une grande sélection de produits locaux et artisanaux, de boulangers et bouchers, de cafés et restaurants, de poissonniers et fleuristes. De petites boutiques “pop-up” de toutes sortes (art, artisanat, street food...) y apparaissent régulièrement pour supporter des œuvres caritatives.

“From Royals to Wonders”, excursion culinaire à St Helier

Suivez le guide Rex Baxter durant sa visite “From Royals to Wonders” des rues de St Helier pour découvrir le patrimoine gastronomique de Jersey. Vous saurez tout sur les plats traditionnels comme le bean crock et la soupe au congre et sur l’évolution de la fameuse Jersey Cow et de la pomme de terre primeurs Jersey Royal. Vous passerez par les deux marchés couverts et goûterez aux meilleurs produits locaux dont des huîtres, du black butter, du fromage et plus encore.

Don Street Deli, St Helier

Le Don Street Delicatessen est l’épicerie fine du chef étoilé Shaun Rankin, on y trouve des produits de luxe, ainsi qu’un délicieux menu pour le petit déjeuner et déjeuner. C’est un paradis pour les gourmets – chaque produit est fourni par des producteurs artisanaux, des petits exploitants et des fermes jersiaises triés sur le volet. Vous pouvez aussi profiter du ‘supper’ service et commander de superbes plats maison à emporter tel que le “Filet de bœuf écossais Wellington et sauce au vin rouge” de Shaun Rankin - parfait si vous êtes en hébergement indépendant et avez envie de passer la soirée à la maison.

Compass icon
Ouest

Notre West Side Story

Ici, les pommes de terre primeurs Jersey Royals vont du champ à l’assiette quasiment le jour-même. La mer dépose une abondance de coquillages, crabes et homards près de nos côtes à chaque marée. Ici, vous pouvez même fourrager des herbes marines sauvages comestibles le long du littoral. Découvrez la West Side Story de Jersey.

  • Dégustez les Jersey Royals où elles sont cultivées

    Dégustez les Jersey Royals où elles sont cultivées

  • N’oubliez pas votre appétit

    N’oubliez pas votre appétit

  • Cueillette d’herbes marines

    Cueillette d’herbes marines

L’étal “self service” de la ferme Le Feuvre, St Ouen

On trouve de nombreux petits étals sur le bord des routes de St Ouen, mais l’un de nos préférés est celui de la ferme Le Feuvre qui a vue sur la mer. Les puissantes marées nourrissent le terroir jersiais de riches minéraux qui donnent une saveur unique à nos Jersey Royals. Assurez-vous d’en goûter avant de partir. Selon la saison, servez-vous parmi les Jersey Royals toutes fraîches, les légumes sortant juste du champ et les jolis bouquets de fleurs. On vous fait confiance pour payer dans la caisse ou honesty box. Pour les trouver, dirigez-vous vers St Ouen’s Bay puis L’Etacq. Suivez ensuite les panneaux indiquant la direction de La Saline. L’étal est sur le Chemin de la Brecquette, la petite route étroite qui mène à la mer.

Faulkner Fisheries, St Ouen

Les Faulkner Fisheries sont une entreprise familiale indépendante. Leur “Vivier” occupe un bunker allemand datant de la Seconde Guerre mondiale situé à L’Etacq à St Ouen. On peut acheter du poisson, du homard, des huîtres, crabes, araignées de mer et bien plus encore, ou les déguster sur place au célèbre BBQ, restaurant en plein air ouvert à la belle saison.

Me and the Farmer, St Brelade

Une caravane-échoppe “près des cochons”, on y achète de la viande locale, d’excellents travers de porc, des burgers maison, et ne manquez pas la viande et les saucisses venant des cochons Saddleback de Jon Hackett. Certaines des saveurs des saucisses peuvent surprendre, comme celles au black butter ou à la lavande de Jersey. Avec un peu de chance, vous rencontrerez peut-être même Jon! Allez, on vous donne un petit secret... Ses pork pies (petites tourtes au porc) sont les meilleures!

Cueillette sauvage avec Kazz Padidar, St Ouen

Venez vous perdre sur la côte sauvage de St Ouen le temps d’une balade botanique! Prenez une grande bouffée d’air iodé avec Kazz Padidar, un passionné du littoral et de l'environnement jersiais. Il vous guide entre terre et mer à la recherche de plantes sauvages comestibles et médicinales.

Compass icon
Nord

Les paysages sauvages du nord

Explorez les magnifiques paysages sauvages du nord de Jersey! Découvrez les vergers chatoyants du Domaine de La Mare Wine Estate et rencontrez des paysans dans les farm shops qui vous accueillent un peu partout au cœur de la campagne luxuriante jersiaise.

  • La Mare Wine Estate

    Dégustation d’une ou deux spécialités de La Mare Estate

  • Explorez les vignes et vergers luxuriants de La Mare

    Explorez les vignes et vergers luxuriants de La Mare

  • Jersey Cows

    Faites connaissance avec des jersiais

  • Une abondance de bons produits locaux

    Une abondance de bons produits locaux

La Mare Wine Estate, St Mary

Le domaine de La Mare, au cœur de la campagne au nord de l’île, est un beau corps de ferme en granite traditionnel datant du 18ème siècle protégé par des acres de vignes et de vergers de pommier. Baladez-vous dans les 8 hectares du domaine, renommé pour son vin et son Jersey Apple Brandy Cream (crème de brandy à la pomme) et dégustez des spécialités locales traditionnelles comme le Black Butter ainsi que des produits plus modernes conçus sur place. Il est possible de faire un tour guidé de la distillerie et une dégustation de vin et de produits maison chaque jour. Vous êtes également bienvenu dans les jardins, les vignes, la tonnellerie et dans le restaurant qui sert un bon déjeuner et cream tea (goûter anglais).

Classic Herd Farm Shop, St Peter

Visitez la boutique de la Classic Herd Farm Shop dans la paroisse de St Peter. Darren et Julia Quénault sont les seuls fermiers producteurs de lait indépendants de l’île, ils fabriquent leurs propres produits laitiers ici, à Manor Farm dont du lait, du beurre, de la crème, des yaourts, du fromage et de la glace. Ils élèvent également des bœufs et des porcs. Vous y trouverez une grande sélection de légumes, des bons petits souvenirs gourmands, du pain artisanal et des œufs frais ainsi qu’un Tea Room pour faire une dégustation sur place.

Woodside Farm Shop, Trinity

Charles Gallichan tient les rennes de la ferme familiale à Trinity, cinquième génération suivant les pas de son arrière-arrière-grand-père, également nommé Charles, qui s’est lancé en 1887. Elle reste une exploitation traditionnelle jersiaise qui cultive des Jersey Royals, des légumes et des fleurs. Les jonquilles de Woodside Farm voyagent cependant très loin, et traversent l’Atlantique à destination des États-Unis. Sa boutique est un petit bijou où l’on trouve des fleurs, des produits frais et de jolis souvenirs à ramener à la maison.

Compass icon
Est

Aventurez-vous à l’est

Prenez le temps de savourer la vie insulaire à l’est.

  • Holme Grown, le farm shop le plus au sud des îles britanniques

    Holme Grown, le farm shop le plus au sud des îles britanniques

  • On ne fait pas plus frais

    On ne fait pas plus frais

  • Voici quelqu’un qui s’y connait en huîtres de Jersey

    Voici quelqu’un qui s’y connait en huîtres de Jersey

  • Jersey Turbot Farm

    Une autre façon de revivre l’Histoire

Holme Grown, Grouville

Affectueusement appelé ‘Farm Shop le plus au sud de la Grande-Bretagne', Holme Grown a bien évolué depuis ses humbles origines de vente de tomates depuis une brouette au bord de la route. Aujourd’hui, on y trouve une épicerie, un boucher, une boulangerie, un potier, une jardinerie et un café! Offrant une grande diversité, qualité et sélection de produits, il n’est pas surprenant que Holme Grown fut voté parmi les 50 “Meilleures Destinations Gourmandes au Royaume-Uni” par les lecteurs du magazine Stella du Sunday Telegraph.

Jersey Oyster Company, Grouville

La Jersey Oyster Company est gérée par son propriétaire Chris Le Masurier, troisième génération d’ostréiculteurs jersiais. Cette entreprise qui affine des huîtres au mouvement des fortes marées de l’île est le premier producteur ostréicole des Îles britanniques. Les parcs de la Jersey Oyster Company s’étendent sur 35 hectares dans la Royal Bay de Grouville, elle exporte plus de 700 tonnes d’huîtres par an, dont 80% vers la France.

The Oyster Trail, tour guidé des parcs à huîtres, Grouville

Laissez-vous guider par un expert local dans les parcs ostréicoles jersiais. Durant The Jersey Oyster Trail vous apprendrez tout sur les méthodes modernes d’élevage à Jersey. Votre guide vous racontera également des histoires fascinantes sur le monde de la pêche à l’huître, l’un des secteurs économiques dominant au 19ème siècle à Jersey. Cette merveilleuse aventure se termine comme il se doit avec une dégustation d’huîtres jersiaises au Seymour Inn. Attendez-vous à avoir les pieds mouillés!

Jersey Turbot, St Martin

Il est rare de trouver du turbot au large des côtes de Jersey, c’est la raison pour laquelle Dave Cowburn et sa famille ont décidé d’ouvrir leur ferme de turbot dans un ancien tunnel construit à Ste Catherine par les allemands durant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale. De nos jour, ce poste d’artillerie abrite environ 6500 turbots dans de grands réservoirs d’eau de mer. Ils font environ 3cm et pèsent 5g à leur arrivée et grandissent jusqu’à peser près d’1.5kg au bout de quatre ans!

Tout cela vous plait?

Pour nous aider à vous suggérer de bonnes expériences pour votre break insulaire, dites-nous quels sont vos centres d’intérêt.

Jersey food culture

An island famous for its food

vj-share-icon

As a small island famous for its food, Jersey’s bursting with flavour. What’s more authentic than shopping at a farm where local produce was grown or reared? Whether you’re planning a Jersey picnic, or just want to taste some of the island’s produce, don't miss these top foodie experiences to discover around the island. Take time to savour the authentic taste of Jersey.

Compass icon
South

Venture in to St. Helier's centre

Explore the lively heart of Jersey with our guide to the island's gastonomic offerings in the south.

  • We don't import our lobster

    We don't import our lobster

  • Seafood tastes better when you can see the sea

    Seafood tastes better when you can see the sea

  • Pack up the perfect picnic

    Pack up the perfect picnic

  • Jersey Royals freshly dug today

    Jersey Royals freshly dug today

The Fresh Fish Company, St. Helier

The Fresh Fish Company is situated in the heart of the island’s commercial fishing fleet on the Victoria Pier of St. Helier Harbour.  Fresh spider crabs in the summer months - are in a league of their own. Grab a crab sandwich or lobster claws to eat with a sea view or select the freshest of fish to grill on your beach BBQ. Don’t forget to pick up seasonal herbs and salad, supplied direct from local farmers, along with some ‘Jersey Sea Salt’ - you’ll enjoy an authentic taste of Jersey.   

Jersey's Central Markets, St. Helier

Jersey's Central and Beresford Markets are an integral part of Jersey’s heritage and a source of pride for many islanders. The local markets have served the community for over 200 years. Both markets are lively, full of colours and smells and home to a wide range of local produce with crafts, goods and services, from bakers to butchers, cafes and restaurants, florists and fish mongers. Check out the regular ‘pop-up’ market events when local arts, crafts and street food vendors showcase their small businesses - all for a charitable cause. 

From Royals to Wonders, St. Helier

Enjoy a gentle guided walk through St. Helier and discover Jersey's food heritage on 'From Royals to Wonders' with Rex Barker.  From traditional dishes, bean crock and conger soup, through to the development of the famous Jersey Cow and the Jersey Royal Potatoes. You'll explore the Victorian Central and Fish Markets and taste local produce, from oysters, black butter, to cheese and more. 

Don Street Deli, St. Helier

Don Street Delicatessen, designed by Michelin-starred chef Shaun Rankin, combines both luxury deli retail and fresh, exceptional food for both breakfast and lunch.  It is a haven for foodies - products have been carefully sourced from artisan producers, smallholders and local farmers. Foodies can also enjoy the ‘supper’ service, where homemade dishes, such as ‘Shaun Rankin’s Fillet of Scotch Beef Wellington with Red Wine Sauce’, can be ordered and taken home - perfect if you're self-catering and fancy a night in.

Compass icon
West

Our west side story

This is an island where Jersey Royals can go from field to fork in hardly more than a day, where the tide brings an abundance of fresh shellfish, crabs and lobsters close to the island’s shores, and where you can forage for wild sea herbs along the coast. Discover Jersey's west side story. 

 

  • Taste Jersey Royals in the only place they're grown

    Taste Jersey Royals in the only place they're grown

  • Just bring a healthy appetite

    Just bring a healthy appetite

  • Forage for wild sea herbs

    Forage for wild sea herbs

Le Feuvre Farm Stall, St. Ouen

St. Ouen is home to a real variety of hedge veg roadside stalls, but a favourite has to be the Le Feuvre Farm roadside stop with a sea view. In Jersey one of the largest tides in the world nourishes the land with rich marine minerals. It’s why our Jersey Royals have a unique flavour so don't miss trying them in the only place they're grown. With the slipway of La Saline just a few hundred metres away, you’ll find bags of just-dug Jersey Royals in season, freshly grown vegetables and bunches of flowers. Leave your money in the honesty box.  Head west along St. Ouen’s Bay to L’Etacq and follow the signs to La Saline. Chemin de la Brecquette is the narrow lane leading to the sea.

Faulkners Fisheries, St. Ouen

Faulkner Fisheries is an independent and family owned merchant. The ‘Vivier’ is nestled inside an old WW2 German bunker at L’Etacq in St. Ouen. They store and sell live local fish and shellfish including lobsters, crabs, spider crabs, oysters and much more. The Vivier is the home of the famous seafood BBQ that runs through the warmer months of the year.

Me and the Farmer, St. Brelade

A trailer farm stall ‘by the pigs’, full of local meat, amazing ribs, locally-produced beef burgers, pork and sausages from Jon Hackett’s rare breed saddleback pigs are not to be missed. Many of the sausages are flavoured with local ingredients like Jersey Lavender and local delicacy Black Butter.  If you’re lucky you might meet Farmer John himself! We'll let you in to a secret - our favourites are the pork pies!

Foraging with Kazz Padder, St. Ouen

Come and get lost in the wilds of St. Ouen on a coastal forage! Embrace the fresh Jersey atmosphere with Kazz Padidar who lives and breathes the landscape to the full all year round. Explore Jersey's submerged coastal landscapes and discover the variety of wild edible and medicinal plants our unique environment has to offer. 

Compass icon
North

The natural landscape of the north

Discover the stunning natural landscape of Jersey’s north coast!  Explore the golden orchards of La Mare Wine Estate and chat to the local farmers in their friendly farm shops dotted around the island's lush countryside. 

  • La Mare Wine Estate

    Sample a tipple or two of La Mare Wine Estate's finest

  • Explore the lush vineyards and orchards of La Mare

    Explore the lush vineyards and orchards of La Mare

  • Jersey Cows

    Meet our friendly locals

  • Jersey local produce

    Jersey produce aplenty

La Mare Wine Estate, St. Mary

La Mare Wine Estate can be found in a quiet secluded corner in the north of the island where fields of vines and apple trees surround a traditional, 18th century, Jersey granite farmhouse.   Explore the 20 acre working estate, well known for its wines and popular Jersey Apple Brandy Cream and taste some of the island's legacy recipes such as Black Butter preserve as well as its own contemporary produce from the distillery and production kitchens. Tours and tastings of the wines and handmade products are available daily and guests are invited to enjoy the gardens, vineyard walk, cooperage display and onsite restaurant offering delicious light lunches and cream teas.

Classic Herd Farm Shop, St. Peter

Discover the Classic Herd Farm Shop in the heart of St Peter. Darren and Julia Quénault are the island’s only independent dairy farmers milking and making fresh dairy products on site at Manor Farm, from milk, butter and cream to yoghurt, cheese and ice cream as well as producing beef and pork.  You will find a wide range of vegetables, bijou foodie souvenir gifts, artisan breads and eggs alongside a Tea Room to sample some of the products first hand.

Woodside Farm Shop, Trinity

Charles Gallichan is the fifth generation to hold the reigns at the family farm in Trinity, since his great-great-grandfather, also Charles, started out in 1887.  While remaining a traditional Jersey farm, growing Jersey Royals, vegetables and flowers, Woodside Farm daffodils travel a long way, right across the Atlantic Ocean to the United States of America.  The farm shop is a hidden gem to pick up fresh flowers, produce and great souvenirs to take home.

Compass icon
East

Venture out east

Take time to savour island life out east.

  • Holme Grown Britain's Most Southerly Farm Shop

    Holme Grown Britain's Most Southerly Farm Shop

  • Fresh from the sea bed

    Fresh from the sea bed

  • Meet a man who knows a thing or two about Jersey Oysters

    Meet a man who knows a thing or two about Jersey Oysters

  • Jersey Turbot Farm

    A different take on bringing history to life

Holme Grown, Grouville

Fondly known as ‘Britain's Most Southernly Farm Shop', Holme Grown has come a long way from humble beginnings as a barrow on the road side. Today it emcompasses a green grocery, butchery, bakery, gardening, pottery, and cafe! Testament to the diversity, range and top quality ingredients on offer, it's no surprise that Holme Grown was voted as one of the top 50 "Best UK Foodie Destinations" by The Sunday Telegraph’s Stella magazine.

Jersey Oyster Company, Grouville

Jersey Oyster Company is owned and run by Chris Le Masurier, a third generation Jersey oyster farmer.  Cultivating oysters on the rise and the fall of the island's tides, the company is the largest oyster growing concern in the British Isles. Jersey Oyster Company farms some 35 hectares of the Royal Bay of Grouville, and exports over 700 tons of oysters a year with 80% being exported to France.

The Oyster Trail, Grouville

Join a local resident expert and discover the island's oyster beds on The Jersey Oyster Trail. Hear about the modern cultivation of shellfish in Jersey as well as the fascinating history of the oyster fishery, which in the 19th century was a major industry.  This exciting shellfish exploration is followed by the opportunity to sample fresh Jersey Oysters at Seymour Inn.  Expect to get your feet wet!

Jersey Turbot, St. Martin

Wild turbot is hard to come by off the coasts of Jersey, so Dave Cowburn and his family have remedied this with their successful turbot farm, housed in the former German war tunnels at St. Catherine’s Bay.  The old gun emplacement houses about 6,500 turbot at any one time in roomy tanks filled with fresh sea water, from tiny 50p-sized fish weighing five grams to four-year-old turbot weighing about two to three pounds!

Explore more features

From insider guides to itineraries, find inspiration to help you plan your perfect island break here.

See & Do

See every side to Jersey

Three easy routes to explore the island's countryside and coast

48 Hours in Jersey

See the best of the island in a weekend

Eat & Drink

Field to fork

Local shopping at Jersey's farm-run roadside stalls

Stay

Stay somewhere different

Discover unusual places to stay in Jersey

Insiders' Guide: St Aubin

Fall for the charm of Jersey's coastal harbour village

48 Hours in Jersey

See the best of the island in a weekend

Hungry for more?

Stay in touch and we’ll share a healthy serving of Jersey food and drink news and experiences.